Published on

OSINT “FINANCIAL SUPPORTER 2” DEADSEC CTF 2024

Authors

Challenge Description

Screenshot
2.png

Solution

We were given the name of the person in the first part of the challenge, which was "Callista Diamante." On Discord, they probably provided a hint with a Twitter link to her account. I used her username "@c411sta" from Twitter on https://whatsmyname.app/, where I found her social profile: https://keybase.io/c411sta/devices and discovered the device.

Flag: "DEAD{iphone_14_plus}"

I was the second person to solve the second part of this challenge, and it was one of the best challenges I've ever tackled. I started the OSINT with her Twitter account, but nothing seemed interesting there—just random casual tweets. There was nothing mysterious in her following or followers either. Then, I searched for this username on Bing (I personally use this search engine), and this is what I found,

3.png

This was her Twitter account with the same bio,

4.png

I opened her Dailymotion account. No videos were uploaded, but I saw something strange: some weird encrypted text and a normal caption that she uses on all of her socials.

5.png

Apparently, this was something to work with "k4p2fm6A2iFmpoBa7Ce." I tried to decrypt it, but it was a rabbit hole. Then, I opened a random video on Dailymotion and noticed there is always some encryption in the URL of each video, which looks somewhat like this:

6.png

I entered this encrypted text and boom, we landed on a private video of Greenland sceneries:

7.png

I saw the whole video but couldn’t find anything. Maybe I missed some details. I found her account too: https://mastodon.social/@c411sta from https://whatsmyname.app/, where I saw this post of hers,

8.png

It was edited and checked. The last edits were found to be interesting.

9.png

From this, it is clear the flag is in the video. The title of the private video was "my beautiful country." But where? Let's check Twitter again. Luckily, I found a tweet indicating she's interested in learning animation "frame by frame." This suggests the flag is in a single frame of the video for just a millisecond.

10.png

But where is the flag? Oh, right!

11.png

Now we know that the flag is in the corner of the video and located in one of the frames. However, since the video is 2:50 minutes long, it would take hours to check each frame. There should be a solution. Then I saw the caption she uses everywhere, which marked 1:10 of the song “Falling Apart" | "Adi Goldstein.”

12.png

Okay, now we have everything. I downloaded the video and opened it in VLC because VLC allows us to view each frame of the video using the “E” hotkey. I started to view all frames from the 1:10 timestamp, and at the 1:13 timestamp, I found this.

Screenshot 2024-07-27 213430.png

Flag: “dead{greenland-land_0f_ice}”